Todd-Wadena Electric Cooperative holds 76th Annual Meeting

With nearly 350 members and guests in attendance, Todd-Wadena Electric Cooperative celebrated their 76th Annual Meeting at Wadena’s Memorial Auditorium on Thursday, April 21.

PHOTO GALLERY can be found at

In the board of director elections, Nominating Committee Chair, Wally Wiese, announced that incumbents Mike Thorson and Marie Katterhagen were re-elected. An organizational meeting held immediately after the Annual Meeting, resulted in the following officers being re-elected: Mike Thorson, Chair; Dale Adams, Vice Chair; and Gene Kern, Treasurer; with Marie Katterhagen selected as the new Secretary.

Mr. Thorson spoke to the members in his chairman’s message about the 7 cooperative principals, and how Todd-Wadena is incorporating those principals into their business practices.

Amber Johnson, a junior at Sebeka High School, gave a fantastic presentation and thanked members for her trip to Washington, D.C. last summer, on a youth tour trip paid for by TWEC.  That was followed by a presentation from Great River Energy Vice President of Generation, Rick Lancaster, who spoke on the Clean Power Plan.  He presented a $1,000 check to be donated from Great River Energy to the cooperative’s Operation Round Up program, which benefits local organizations.

Lisa Graba-Meech reported on the cooperative’s stable financial status, and Robin Doege, Todd-Wadena President/CEO, briefly reported on his overall goals that achieve a sustainable business plan, prudent business practices and ensuring the co-op continues to be a good place to work.

Following the meeting, members and guests were treated to a delicious meal catered by BBQ Smokehouse in Wadena.  Twenty-four members left with door prizes, including a pair of grand prizes and four $100 cash awards.


2016 Annual Meeting Door Prize Winners

  1. Yeti 20 oz. Coffee Mug–Frank Lorentz
  2. 2-Piece Flexible Tool Box set–Ronald Wright
  3. TWEC Gift Pac– Jeanette Olsen
  4. Electric Knife– LaVern Erkenbrack
  5. LED Undercabinet Lights– Emily Crocker
  6. 24-Piece Rubbermaid Set– Paul Malone
  7. Plant– Alvin Schwartz
  8. Electric Fan– Bernard Schoon
  9. Weather Radio– Donna White
  10. Fire Safe– Wanda Boyer
  11. Yeti Can Cooler– David Jakubiec
  12. Plant– Larry Wanous
  13. Bird Feeder with Seed– Duane Peterson
  14. Mini Shop Vac– Tom Hammes
  15. $25 Cash– Harlan Thompson
  16. $25 Cash– Gilbert Boyer
  17. $25 Cash– David Meyer
  18. $25 Cash– Gladys Erickson
  19. Spiral Saw Kit– Rick Schwartz
  20. Coffee Brewer– Conrad Tyrrell
  21. $100 Cash– Eugene Irsfeld
  22. $100 Cash– Ambrose Kempf
  23. $100 Cash– Harold Wicht
  24. $100 Cash– Gary Donner

Speak Your Mind